Not failing

“What would you do if you knew you would not fail?”

Have you heard or seen that question? What is your answer? Can you answer it?

I can’t. Every time I see that question, I’m stumped. I simply cannot imagine not failing. I have no idea what life without failure would look like.

Part of my problem is that I can imagine so many ways to fail. I have personal experience with quite a few of them along with the many consequences of failure.

I might be able to answer the question, “What would you do if you knew you could fail without consequences?”

Because it is the consequences of failure that stop me, not failure itself.

Embarrassment, yes but that’s not the worst consequence. Failure and embarrassment I can live with (Mostly. After a period of feeling sorry for myself.) I can, I hope, learn from failure.

The consequences, those often hurt other people. What if I let others down? What if I unintentionally hurt someone? What if I accidentally make things worse? What if something goes wrong? Seriously wrong? This is what I am afraid of.

And underlying that fear are my tiny, little control issues. What if I can’t fix it? My tiny, little control issues are exhausting and futile and filled with fear.

It has been said that one of the most common phrases in the Bible is “Fear not.” or “Be not afraid”. It is the first thing angels say to humans. Jesus says it, more than once.

How we respond is up to us. Some people shed their fear and some cling to it. Many of us, like the apostle Peter, can sometimes shed our fear and step out of whatever boat we are in. And then I think, we become afraid of life without fear. It’s so unfamiliar. So unimaginable. So we grab our old companion fear tight and hold it close while we sink into the waters of chaos.

The thing is, when Jesus shows up, we’re not alone. Whether we succeed or whether we fail, we’re not alone. Whether we walk, or swim, or sink, or never leave the boat, we are not alone. And neither are the other people who are affected- for better or for worse- by our actions. We are not alone.

That is great and good news.

 

 

Tags: ,

One Response to “Not failing”

  1. spaff843 Says:

    Excellent! And so much like my life! Missed you today. We have one chapter left.

    On Sat, Feb 6, 2016 at 1:37 PM, Conversation in Faith Weblog wrote:

    > Nancy posted: “”What would you do if you knew you would not fail?” Have > you heard or seen that question? What is your answer? Can you answer it? I > can’t. Every time I see that question, I’m stumped. I simply cannot imagine > not failing. I have no idea what life without” >

Leave a Reply

